Cervival Cancer Stages

Staging of cervical cancer is very important, as cancer cervix treatment and survival rates show great difference from stage to another , as in early stages of cervical cancer is curable and so it also has a good prognosis.

There are different ways of cancer cervix staging, but the most trusted and globally used is the FIGO staging, that classify cancer cervix from stage zero up to stage 4.

Stage zero: that stage equal to CIN (cervical intra epithial neoplsia ) , which mean the cancer is still cells no more.

  1. Stage 1 : That stage the cancer is confined to the cervix and it is subdivided into
  • Stage 1a: That stage can not be clinically diagnosed and it diagnosed only by microscope , that stage also subdivided into
  • Stage 1a1 : The cancer cervix is invade 3mm or less in cervix¬† depth
  • Stage 1a2: The cancer cervix , invade from 3-5 mm in cervix depth
  • Stage 1b: That stage the invasion more than 5mm in cervix depth , but it also subdivided according to cancer size into
  • Stage 1b1 : cancer size is 4 cm
  • Stage 1b2 : cancer size more than 4 cm
  1. Stage 2 : In that stage the cancer start to spread , that stage subdivided into
  • Stage 2 a: cancer spread to vagina , but not involving lower one third
  • Stage 2 b: cancer spread to parametrium -ligament support cervical lateral borders to pelvis bony wall- , but not reaching lateral pelvic walls.
  1. Stage 3 : That stage also sub divided into
  • Stage 3 a : cancer spread to vagina , involving lower one third.
  • Stage 3 b : cancer spread to parametrium , reaching lateral pelvic walls.
  1. Stage 4: That stage subdivided into
  • Stage 4 a: cancer spread to urinary bladder or rectum
  • Stage 4 b: cancer spread distant mostly to lung , liver , bone and brain .